Reviews

The Gender Game by Bella Forrest

Monday, August 07, 2017

Title: The Gender Game
Author: Bella Forrest
Publisher: self-published
Published: September 24, 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian




From the first chapter, as a reader I was drawn to Violet's character. She's flawed in a very dark world that is tasked with a mission in order to "save" her life. The writing is strong, making me easily like Violet, even though she's been in Juvenile Detention. Her actions have proven they have consequences and while she isn't happy with her current situation, she has made the best of it, given her circumstances. As the story progresses and we meet Lee, Violet still down to her roots is the same character from the beginning, recognizing consequence and not just jumping right in blindly without having a conscious for her actions. Violet's character is strong, she's in a world that has a strong influence of women and forced into the strong male dominated society. The world building was quite incredible and well-thought out. There were some things I'd have liked to see more of, but my hope is that we will in the next book.
Reviewed by Katherine K.




For fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent
comes a story like no other...


A toxic river divides nineteen-year-old Violet Bates's world by gender.
Women rule the East. Men rule the West.

Welcome to the lands of Matrus and Patrus.

Ever since the disappearance of her beloved younger brother, Violet's life has been consumed by an anger she struggles to control. Already a prisoner to her own nation, now she has been sentenced to death for her crimes.

But one decision could save her life.

To enter the kingdom of Patrus, where men rule and women submit.

Everything about the patriarchy is dangerous for a rebellious girl like Violet. She cannot break the rules if she wishes to stay alive. But abiding by rules has never been her strong suit, and when she is thrust into more danger than she could have ever predicted, Violet is forced to sacrifice many things in the forbidden kingdom ... including forbidden love.

In a world divided by gender, only the strongest survive...