Reviews

Awaken My Heart by Maria K. Alexander

Ruth West - Thursday, August 17, 2017

Title: Awaken My Heart
Author: Maria K. Alexander
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press, Inc.
Published: May 10, 2017
Genre: Contemporary




A sweet romance with plenty of sexual tension and a definite page-turner. Detective Nick is written with a sexy tone and a male that every straight girl will want to bring into the bedroom. He's charming and honest and the chemistry shared with his one-night stand fourteen years ago is like ever-present fireworks. He's relentless in asking her out again and she's tentative to say yes, given past and the secret she harbors. There's no having to wait or guess the secret too long, which I appreciate. There's tons of sizzle and plenty of plot to make this a well-rounded story. Pleased to find this an easy read to get into and one that I didn't want to put down, Awaken My Heart is the first book I've read from Maria K. Alexander and I happily look forward to reading anything else she writes. Fast paced, full of heart-racing contemporary style drama, you will love this book if you love sweet romances.
Reviewed by: Melanie P.


 Read More

Under the Stars by Kendra Delugar

Ruth West - Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Title: Under the Stars
Author: Kendra Delugar
Publisher: Kendra Delugar
Published: June 4, 2017
Genre: Contemporary




This was a sweet, well-written book. Sophie and Gabriel were very real characters and I could relate to what was going on for each of them. The pace of their relationship development made sense and I enjoyed the story. I am looking forward to reading other books by this author.
Reviewed by Robin D.


 Read More

Flood by Elaine Cantrell

Ruth West - Monday, August 14, 2017

Title: Flood
Author: Elaine Cantrell
Publisher: Wings ePress, Inc.
Published: June 1, 2017
Genre: Contemporary




This story was fantastic, with plenty of plot surprises that I didn't expect! At first, I didn't understand how Dr DeLuca could trust an ex-con so easily. But the story line moved quickly and answered my questions. It's really a story of a woman meeting and falling for the guy from the wrong side of the tracks. He's got a heart of gold that even the animals at her shelter recognize. It's the kind of story that stays with you because of the intensity of the circumstances and you remember the characters. I also liked that the author left some of the romance up to my imagination.
Sometimes less is more, and in this particular story, it would've been distracting, especially with regards to the unfolding drama.
The only thing I had any trouble with was being sure I had the right pronunciation of the heroine's (and her mom's) names.
I really enjoyed reading this story and hope to read more from this author.

Reviewed by Liz


 Read More

Keep Away From the Heat by Amelia James

Ruth West - Saturday, August 12, 2017

Title: Keep Away From the Heat
Author: Amelia James
Publisher: Limitless Publishing, LLC
Published: March 29, 2017
Genre: Contemporary Erotic Romance




Dash Ryder and Simone Leveque had been high school sweethearts torn apart by an apparent betrayal. Thirteen years later, he is superintendent of a county’s wildfire crew and she has just been hired as the manager of Emergency Management Services for said county, and is his new boss.

This is an erotic romance with a second chance at romance trope. I had difficulty with the story primarily because I did not find the heroine very likeable. She is shown as a seemingly strong woman who has some self-doubt. However, the scenes where she portrayed the weakness felt contrived. Her need to argue or bicker with the hero was fairly constant and though the why of it was explained in the story, it did not lead me to find her any more appealing. And the emotional outbursts lead mostly to bouts of angry sex, over and over, again.

I had more sympathy for the hero but was not much of a fan in regards to his part in a “big misunderstanding.” However, this may simply be a quirk of mine and other readers who don’t mind this device may be more content.

The author does a good job in writing the action-packed scenes with wildfire and other emergency situations. She also manages to tie together loose ends and explain motivation of her main characters well. And frankly, the last bit of the book was satisfyingly romantic. In the end, it was an ok read.

Reviewed by Lil


 Read More

Premonition by Leigh Walker

Ruth West - Friday, August 11, 2017

Title: Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
Author: Leigh Walker
Publisher: CMG Publishing
Published: July 19, 2017
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian



Wow! What an intense thrill-ride. Premonition starts off with a typical story of a teenage girl that's joined a boarding school summer program as a work-study so that she can aim for an Ivy League type of education. Riley soon discovers that her work-study isn't what she thought, tasked with joining an elite and secretive division of the FBI known as "The Division." The writing is quick and breezy, forcing me to finish this book in one day, because I could not for the life of me put it down. I would have liked to have seen one additional round of edits done, I found two blatant errors that slowed down my reading but didn't take away any of my enjoyment of the story. The characters of Riley and Finn have a blossoming relationship that is full of emotion. Premonition brought tears to my eyes, forcing me to cry while reading about Riley's family. The author has created strong characters, a solid backstory, and a ground-breaking plot that will keep you on the edge of your seat. I highly recommend this book.
Reviewed by Samantha Peters


 Read More

Romancing Dr. Love by Rebecca Heflin

Ruth West - Thursday, August 10, 2017

Title: Romancing Dr. Love
Author: Rebecca Heflin
Publisher: Rebecca Heflin Books
Published: March 7, 2017
Genre: Contemporary




Full disclosure, I’ve never read a book by Rebecca Heflin, but I will now be adding her to my ‘to be read’ list. This book, “Romancing Dr. Love” is full of humor and romance. The two main characters are people I would actually want to be friends with. Samantha has a very analytical mind which makes her not want to have anything to do with having a boyfriend. Ethan only has eyes for Samantha and is all about romancing her which she does not understand the concept of. Opposites definitely attract in this great start to a series that I will continue to read.
Reviewed by Kimberly Green

 Read More

Right Text Wrong Number by Natalie Decker

Ruth West - Wednesday, August 09, 2017

Title: Right Text Wrong Number
Author: Natalie Decker
Publisher: Swoon Romance
Published: July 11, 2017
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult




The writing was mediocre and the storyline while intriguing the execution fell flat. The book had a great cover and interesting blurb but while reading I could not connect with the characters. While the book is geared toward a young adult audience and teens, the writing felt dumbed down and made the teens look immature. The writing suffers from the issue of telling rather than showing emotion. There are young adult books that show teens being intelligent and thoughtful characters, with a voice that is mature while still struggling through adolescence. This book was too juvenile in terms of writing but with content for upper YA. There are moments I absolutely can't stand Layla's character. Her boyfriend ditches her and she has to get a ride from someone else and then she instantly forgives him within seconds of seeing him. Then the next chapter this just made me cringe.

"I hope he's not in an accident somewhere. Then again, I hope he is because then I can't be mad at him for being this late."

That line makes Layla seem incredibly selfish. She should have stood up to him for ditching her, rather than forgive and forget and pretend it was no big deal. Who wishes someone was in an accident for being late? That is just an awful thing to think. The writing and story for me just didn't work.

Reviewed by Jenna Malone

 Read More

The Princess and the Laird by C.A. Szarek

Ruth West - Tuesday, August 08, 2017

Title: The Princess and the Laird
Author: C.A. Szarek
Publisher: Paper Dragon Publishing
Published: May 9, 2017
Genre: Historical, Scottish Highlander



The book was good. It was exciting and grabbed me about 1/2 way thru to keep reading. The book was well written (meaning editing and punctuation) and the characters were trustworthy. Even the villain, although, there should have been a bit more interaction with this character, thought he was a bit lazy, but then he was a prince (ha, ha). I really enjoyed the heroine, but the hero needed more strength. He didn't seem to fight enough for me. If he had fairy blood, why didn't some of it come out? Could have given him strength. The book seemed a bit one sided, more heroine than hero, that's what lacked strength.
Overall it was a good book and I enjoyed the story enough to purchase the next one in the series.

Reviewed by Luv Smut


 Read More

The Gender Game by Bella Forrest

Ruth West - Monday, August 07, 2017

Title: The Gender Game
Author: Bella Forrest
Publisher: self-published
Published: September 24, 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian




From the first chapter, as a reader I was drawn to Violet's character. She's flawed in a very dark world that is tasked with a mission in order to "save" her life. The writing is strong, making me easily like Violet, even though she's been in Juvenile Detention. Her actions have proven they have consequences and while she isn't happy with her current situation, she has made the best of it, given her circumstances. As the story progresses and we meet Lee, Violet still down to her roots is the same character from the beginning, recognizing consequence and not just jumping right in blindly without having a conscious for her actions. Violet's character is strong, she's in a world that has a strong influence of women and forced into the strong male dominated society. The world building was quite incredible and well-thought out. There were some things I'd have liked to see more of, but my hope is that we will in the next book.
Reviewed by Katherine K.


 Read More

Legacy by Hannah Fielding

Ruth West - Sunday, August 06, 2017

Title: Legacy
Author: Hannah Fielding
Publisher: London Wall Publishing
Published: August 4, 2016
Genre: Contemporary



I give the book 5 stars. Ms. Fielding did a beautiful job of writing. She did a wonderful job of pulling the reader into the book. While reading you feel like you are in Spain experiencing the same thing as Luna and Ruy. One book I highly recommend others to read.
Reviewed by Samantha H.

 Read More