RomCon Reviews

The Latest in RomCon® Blogs & Reviews

Get the latest in romance from the best of the business.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               

Everless by Sara Holland

Ruth West - Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Title: Everless
Author: Sara Holland
Publisher: HarperTeen
Published: Jan 2, 2018



Review:
Everless is a dystopian story of royalty in a fantasy world where one's blood is both the currency and your life expectancy. The story follows Jules Ember and her dangerous journey into the heart of Everless, living among the queen as a servant. There are secrets, betrayals, and lots of twists and turns as the story unfolds.

At times the writing felt slow as we learned what was happening for Jules and the kingdom of Sempera. There was a heavy dose of world building which wasn't bogged down too much but did slow and shift the story at times out of the action sequences. There were also plenty of exciting scenes that made me not want to put the book down, especially as the story grew into the later chapters. The first 100 pages is probably the hardest to get through but it was worth it. By then the characters are well developed and the end is worth reading.

Reviewed by Alicia K.


 Read More

Reader Registration is Open

Ruth West - Tuesday, April 10, 2018

The 2018 RomCon Reader Appreciation Weekend is being held in Richmond, Virginia this year on October 5-7th. This is a premier weekend event in which you can mingle with dozens of your favorite authors in several genres. This event has been held for several years and for the very first time being brought to the East Coast. We will have over 100 authors represented in several genres of romance including but not limited to: historical, dark erotic, science fiction, contemporary, inspirational, paranormal and erotic romance. We are now open for reader registration

 Read More

Surprise Me by Sophie Kinsella

Ruth West - Friday, April 06, 2018

After ten years together, Sylvie and Dan have a comfortable home, fulfilling jobs, and beautiful twin girls, and they communicate so seamlessly they finish each other’s sentences. They have a happy marriage and believe they know everything there is to know about each other. Until it’s casually mentioned to them that they could be together for another sixty-eight years . . . and panic sets in.

They decide to bring surprises into their marriage to keep it fresh and fun. But in their pursuit of Project Surprise Me—from unexpected gifts to restaurant dates to sexy photo shoots—mishaps arise, with disastrous and comical results. Gradually, surprises turn to shocking truths. And when a scandal from the past is uncovered, they begin to wonder if they ever really knew each other at all.

With a colorful cast of eccentric characters, razor-sharp observations, and her signature wit and charm, Sophie Kinsella presents a humorous yet moving portrait of a marriage—its intricacies, comforts, and complications. Surprise Me reveals that hidden layers in a close relationship are often yet to be discovered.

Available on Amazon

 Read More

Only You by Melanie Harlow

Ruth West - Thursday, April 05, 2018

Nate Pearson is ridiculously handsome and wears the hell out of a suit and tie, but I’ve seen the parade of beautiful women leaving his apartment across the hall—a different one every time—and I want no part of it. When it comes to romance, I’m looking for something real, something that will last: the happily ever after.

As a divorce attorney, he loves to tell me there’s no such thing.

As a wedding planner, I choose to disagree.

We disagree on almost everything, in fact. Everything except James Bond. The only time we really get along is when we’re watching 007 flicks together, and I’ll admit—he has rescued me from a disaster or five. So when one of the baton twirlers from his parade leaves a baby girl at his door with a note that says “I’ll come back for her” and he begs me for help, I can’t turn him down.

But it’s a mistake.

Because watching him with his daughter, I start to see another side of Nate, a side that has my breath coming faster, my body craving his, my heart longing for him to change his mind about love and tell me there’s a chance for us.

I don’t want to be just another girl leaving his apartment in the morning.

I want to be the one he asks to stay.

Available on Amazon


 Read More

NeverSea by Jenetta Penner and David R. Bernstein

Ruth West - Wednesday, April 04, 2018

First the floods consumed the Earth.
Then the Syndicate took everything from me.
My childhood, my first love—my humanity.


No thanks to Peter—my backstabbing best friend—I escaped. But only after I was forced to shoot James, the boy I've loved for years.

Now the Syndicate's cruel experiments have intensified. They will do anything to replicate the abilities they forced on us. To take them down and get James back, I have to trust Peter. After what he did, I don't know if that's possible.

The Syndicate might control the waters of the NeverSea, but they won't control me.

NeverSea is a dystopian fantasy packed with action, romance, and a sci-fi / fairy tale twist. Readers who enjoyed The Lunar Chronicles and Red Queen will love this epic young adult series.

Available on Amazon

 Read More

Spelled by Betsy Schow

Ruth West - Tuesday, April 03, 2018

Fairy Tale Survival Rule #32: If you find yourself at the mercy of a wicked witch, sing a romantic ballad and wait for your Prince Charming to save the day.

Yeah, no thanks. Dorthea is completely princed out. Sure being the crown princess of Emerald has its perks—like Glenda Original ball gowns and Hans Christian Louboutin heels. But a forced marriage to the not-so-charming prince Kato is so not what Dorthea had in mind for her enchanted future.

Talk about unhappily ever after.

Trying to fix her prince problem by wishing on a (cursed) star royally backfires, leaving the kingdom in chaos and her parents stuck in some place called "Kansas." Now it's up to Dorthea and her pixed off prince to find the mysterious Wizard of Oz and undo the curse...before it releases the wickedest witch of all and spells The End for the world of Story.

Available on Amazon

 Read More

High Voltage by Karen Marie Moning

Ruth West - Thursday, March 29, 2018

There is no action without consequence.
 
Dani O’Malley was nine years old when the delusional, sadistic Rowena transformed her into a ruthless killer. Years later, Dani is tough and hardened, yet achingly vulnerable and fiercely compassionate, living alone by her own exacting code. Despite the scars on her body, and driven by deeper ones carved into her soul, no one is more committed to protecting Dublin. By day she ensures the safety of those she rescues, by night she hunts evil, dispensing justice swiftly and without mercy, determined to give to those she cares for the peace she has never known.  
 
There is no power without price.
 
When the Faerie Queen used the dangerously powerful Song of Making to heal the world from the damage done by the Hoar Frost King, catastrophic magic seeped deep into the earth, giving rise to horrifying, unforeseen consequences—and now deadly enemies plot in the darkness, preparing to enslave the human race and unleash an ancient reign of Hell on Earth.
 
There is no future without sacrifice.
 
With the lethal, immortal Ryodan at her side, armed with the epic Sword of Light, Dani once again battles to save the world, but her past comes back to haunt her with a vengeance, demanding an unspeakable price for the power she needs to save the human race. And no one—not even Ryodan, who would move the very stars for her—can save her this time. Read More

Burn Bright by Patricia Briggs

Ruth West - Wednesday, March 28, 2018

In her bestselling Alpha and Omega series, Patricia Briggs "spins tales of werewolves, coyote shifters, and magic and, my, does she do it well" (USATODAY.com). Now mated werewolves Charles Cornick and Anna Latham face a threat like no other--one that lurks too close to home...

They are the wild and the broken. The werewolves too damaged to live safely among their own kind. For their own good, they have been exiled to the outskirts of Aspen Creek, Montana. Close enough to the Marrok's pack to have its support; far enough away to not cause any harm.

With their Alpha out of the country, Charles and Anna are on call when an SOS comes in from the fae mate of one such wildling. Heading into the mountainous wilderness, they interrupt the abduction of the wolf--but can't stop blood from being shed. Now Charles and Anna must use their skills--his as enforcer, hers as peacemaker--to track down the attackers, reopening a painful chapter in the past that springs from the darkest magic of the witchborn... Read More

Craft by Adriana Locke

Blog Diva - Tuesday, March 27, 2018

They're not quite enemies. Not really friends. More like frustrated balls of sexual tension and neither will give in.

Lance Gibson drives Mariah Malarkey absolutely crazy. He uses her office like a phone booth, takes cupcakes from the corner of her desk like she baked them just for him. She didn't. Maybe she knew the history teacher happened to love peanut butter icing, but that was purely a coincidence. All sixteen times.

Mariah has a way of getting under Lance's skin too. She calls him out on his crap, spoils him even if inadvertently, and seeing the librarian in skirts drives him wild. She won't give in. It's for the best, really, considering there's no way he could lie to a woman like that and he's not about to tell her the truth about himself. Not in a million years.

These two don't hate each other. They don't really like each other. But for this to be a friends-to-lovers story, they have to start somewhere, right?

Note: This can be read as a standalone novel. Read More

One Last Time by Corrine Michaels

Ruth West - Monday, March 26, 2018


I’m getting really good at cutting my losses.

First, the husband. Divorcing him was the best decision I ever made. But between single-parenting and job-hunting, I can’t catch my breath. When a celebrity blogging position falls into my lap, I’m determined to succeed.

That is, until I get my first assignment and actually see Noah Frazier for the first time . . . practically naked and dripping wet. My heart races and I forget how to form complete sentences. His chiseled abs, irresistible smirk, and crystal blue eyes are too perfect to be real. So, what do I do? Get drunk and humiliate myself, of course.

I’m ready to forget the awkward night, yet Noah has no intention of allowing me to move on. Instead, he arranges for me to write a feature on him, ensuring a lot more time together. One embarrassing moment after another, one kiss after another, and before I can stop myself, I realize—I’m falling in love with him.

But when the unthinkable happens, can I even blame him for cutting his losses?

What I wouldn’t give for just one last time . . .

 Read More

 
Join our mailing list for 
a free romance book.

 

RSS RSS Feed: Get the latest RomCon® news and information delivered straight to your inbox.

Office Fling

The Girl I Used to Know

Defiant Queen

RomCon Top Picks 
Flood
 
 
 
A Love To Remember




RomCon Reviewed 

The Girl - 4 stars