Read about RomCon 2015 in USA TODAY!
Click on the graphic!

The Latest in RomCon® Blogs & Reviews

Get the latest in romance from the best of the business. Read great interviews and excerpts pulled from the RomCon Reader. This is just a taste of what the magazine has to offer. Be sure to get the bi-monthly magazine in your inbox for even more great articles!

Borrowing Trouble by Stacy Finz

Michele Callahan - Monday, February 01, 2016


Borrowing Trouble: He’s a chef, she’s a cop. Neither came to town looking for love but it found them. Trouble is, so has their pasts.

Here’s an excerpt from Borrowing Trouble:

“Sloane, honey, look at me.” She lifted her head and locked eyes with him. Man, they were blue. “I left some trouble behind in LA. It hasn’t followed me yet . . . but now’s not a good time for me to get involved.” It wasn’t safe for either of them. And then there was the fact that he didn’t do involvement. Ever.

“What kind of trouble?” she asked, her chin held high.

“Bad trouble.” He wanted to leave it at that, but she was looking at him skeptically. Like she thought he was either wanted by the mob or feeding her a lie after he’d gotten her in the sack. “I have a stalker. She’s delusional and dangerous and I don’t want to put you on the other side of that. You understand?”

He watched her morph back into cop mode. “What happened?”

“It’s a long story. I like you, Sloane. You’re beautiful, smart, and tough. And you’ve got enough on your plate. You don’t need my pot of problems to add to it.”

“Have you gone to the police?”

“Santa Monica PD is working the case. But my stalker is as canny as she is crazy. So far they have nothing to arrest her for. Their best advice to me was to get out of LA while the getting was good. That’s why I’m here.”
 Read More

Hell on Heels by Victoria Vane

Michele Callahan - Tuesday, January 26, 2016


It was while visiting Las Vegas for the Romance Novel convention of 2013 that I first came up with the idea for Hotel Rodeo. After seeing the strip for the first time, I thought how cool it would be to create my own Western themed hotel and casino. The Hotel Rodoe series came to life in my mind very quickly after that as a series of inter-connected stories set in and around my fictional Las Vegas hotel. The first three books are coming in January, February and March, and I have five more planned for this series. Here’s a taste of book #1, Hell on Heels.  

HELL ON HEELS (HOTEL RODEO #1) by VICTORIA VANE  

PLACE YOUR BET...The Hotel Rodeo in Las Vegas has seen better days, but managing partner Ty Morgan has come up with a way to return it to its former glory. His plan looks promising until the unthinkable happens. Suddenly Ty is working for the boss’s daughter. And Miss Monica Brandt, hot as she may be, doesn’t share his vision…  

ROLL THE DICE...She left a fabulous career and a frustrated fiancé in New York to move to Vegas and save her father’s investment. But now Monica is locking horns with a sexy cowboy-turned-businessman. What does Ty think he can do that she can’t? All Monica knows is that she doesn’t dare trust him—or is it herself she doesn’t trust...

AND WIN...The battle lines are drawn. The stakes are high. And the attraction can’t be denied—especially the more closely Ty and Monica have to work together. Some odds are just meant to be played, and with chemistry this electric, it may be time to grab life by the horns. Read More

Crash and Burn - $25 gift card giveaway by Michele Callahan

Michele Callahan - Friday, January 22, 2016

 A hot new contemporary romance - featuring an original song written just for this love story. 
(original mp3 coming soon to iTunes!)
The Love You Like A Love Song Series is new, unique, and totally freaking cool--

Available NOW at:  Apple iBooks    B&N-Nook     Kobo

Pre-Order now: Amazon US     Amazon UK     Amazon CA 


Enter below to win a $25 gift card or a print copy of Crash and Burn

"Oh, where to begin! Do you ever read a story and then want to tell all your book friends to stop whatever they are doing immediately and read this book? Yeah? Well, that was me after finishing this book." - Laura N, Read the full review @ Goodreads

5 Stars - "I absolutely L-O-V-E-D it. The storyline, the characters. Everything. I was hooked as soon as I picked up the book I just couldn't put it down." 

My Reckless Valentine by Olivia Dade

Michele Callahan - Thursday, January 21, 2016

Fact, Fiction, and the Lotion of Uncertain Usage

For the most part, I write stories based entirely in my own imagination. My books star people I’ve never encountered having adventures I’ve never undertaken, a fact which allows me to 1) trample freely over reality and 2) maintain my friends’ willingness to tell me humiliating anecdotes.

So what you read in my Lovestruck Librarians series is fictional. Mostly. With a few key exceptions, ripped almost word-for-word from my real life.

My poor husband. In My Reckless Valentine, I took part of our history together and made it one of those exceptions. And unfortunately for him, the story I used involves paper towels, lotion, and possible self-pleasuring.

Let me explain. When I first met Mr. Dade, he’d moved from Sweden to the U.S. only months before. Some of his house stood empty, and the rest of it featured disposable furniture scavenged from dump-bound friends or the clearance aisles of discount superstores. To stop rooms from echoing, he’d nailed mesh sponges to the wall. He’d also purchased the least expensive swaths of fabric he could find, which he tacked to the wall alongside the sponges.

So upon my initial visit to his house, I found myself staring at a hideous square of cloth with a red-and-blue parakeet pattern. It rested next to a purple mesh puff, pinned to the wall like a trophy from some weird, Sephora-approved hunt.

In retrospect, it’s a wonder I didn’t flee the premises without another word.
 Read More

Unwanted Girl by MK Schiller

Michele Callahan - Tuesday, January 19, 2016

Unwanted Girl by MK Schiller

When I was a kid, I remember my father telling me to get ready because we were going to a special place. Almost bouncing out of my seat, I asked him a million questions on the way. He said it was a surprise, but this place held all kinds of magic and power. It was a place where I’d meet many new friends, who would stay with me for the rest of my life. I’d be able to travel anywhere I wanted. 
“Even space?” I asked. Yes, even there.”
I figured we had to be going somewhere amazing. To my disappointment, Dad pulled our station wagon up to a large brick building: the local library.

I complained he’d tricked me with his promises of grandeur. He dared me to prove him wrong.
As usual, Dad was right.

Inside that brick building, I attended Sweet Valley High and later discovered small town life through Scout Finch’s eyes. I even met my first love at the library. His name was Mr. Darcy (but I call him Fitz).

The first book I remember reading that truly stuck with me was The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein. I cried after I read it. I cried for a freaking tree! That’s the power of a good book. It makes us feel compassion for the world around us. Reading, any kind of reading, makes us better people in my opinion. 

As an author, my goal is to always harness those emotional responses through strong but flawed characters. It’s up to reader if I succeed in this, but it is always the goal in every book I pen. 
I especially love writing multi-cultural romances. There is an outcry for more diversity in the romance world. I’m thrilled to be a writer during this exciting time.
 Read More

Linny's Sweet Dream List by Susan Schild

Michele Callahan - Thursday, January 14, 2016

Linny’s Sweet Dream List by Susan Schild
Have you ever accidentally hit a good looking man in the head with a bottle while recycling? Linny has.
Linny’s Sweet Dream List is a Southern story about love and family, small town life and bright, vivid characters you are going to want as friends.
Fans of Mary Kay Andrews and Dorothea Benton Frank might well enjoy Linny’s Sweet Dream List. Set in the South, the novel’s colorful characters are searching for - and finding - their happily ever afters. Linny’s Sweet Dream List is available January 5th in paperback and digitally on Amazon.

Excerpt from Linny’s Sweet Dream List: Linny finds a puppy and takes him to the veterinarian. She realizes he’s the man she accidentally hit in the head with a bottle at the recycling center.

In the examining room, the puppy wove in and out of Linny’s legs, and nibbled on the hem of her khakis. She extracted a chew toy from her purse, and tried to distract him from his pants-chewing mission.  Read More

Naked Choke Excerpt By Vanessa Dare

Blog Diva - Wednesday, January 13, 2016

CHAPTER ONE

EMORY


“The oysters here are incredible. Did you have the appetizer?”

I was terrible at mingling, especially with men. Especially with men who followed up that ridiculous line with, “You know what they say about oysters’ aphrodisiac properties.”

It had been forty minutes since we finished the sit-down dinner portion of my friend Christy’s engagement party and it wasn’t going well. For me. While Christy had met an amazing man in her fiancé Paul, his cousin, who was attempting to work his lackluster charm on me, was a complete dud. It was crowded in the restaurant and bar area, situated six floors up in a new boutique hotel right on the Baltimore waterfront. The amazing view of the harbor seen through a wall of glass was an attraction.
I smiled vaguely at…Bob. No, Bill. Something with a B. He was in his thirties, well dressed in a suit with a gray tie, as if he came directly from work. He had all his hair, was well groomed, yet seemed perfectly…average.

I really wanted to give him the brush-off, but he was related to Paul and I owed it to Christy to keep from alienating one of her future relatives. Besides, I’d probably have to see him at the wedding in a few months, and God forbid he was one of the groomsmen. Diplomacy was good in this instance and I tried to smile and nod, smile and nod, but he had the personality of a sea slug. We’d talked about Paul and Christy for a minute or two, but after that…he showed himself to be a player. He stood a little too close, his gaze surreptitiously dropping to my chest, and he had an odd leer. It had to be a leer or he had some kind of tick in the corner of his lip.

Why the guy was lingering with me where there was zero hope of…anything, I had no idea. I’d been burned by a man, okay, scorched to a charcoal briquette, and I wasn’t looking for another one. I’d survived, survived because Chris needed a mother, needed me to be the strong one. But he was away at college and I wasn’t shielded behind the role of parent any longer. I could chat about off-sides rules in soccer or PTA fundraisers, but talking to a guy, a real guy and not another parent from high school, was unbelievably hard. God, I was such an introvert! Read More

 

 
Join our mailing list!




RSS RSS Feed: Get the latest RomCon® news and information delivered straight to your inbox.

Friberg